Friends aren’t friends at the poker table.

First off, I’ve had some decent tournament finishes in the last couple of weeks. I made two final tables last week, cashed (in 8th, the lowest pay-out position) in the first and bubbled (in 9th–no pay-out) in the second. The best part was that M finished one place better of me in each of them! Good Job, M! She’s a great card player and I think these fast tourney structures suit her.

I played in the Monday tourney tonight and made it past the first break, but not long into the 2nd hour. I was pretty card dead and ended up making a stand with pocket 3s and lost a race against AK.

I moseyed on over to the cash game table and sat down with $100. I was running good and had a great tight image at a table full of relatively tight players and showed down a couple of monsters, reinforcing that image. After about an hour, a friend of mine from way back sat down with $80 and built it up in to a decent sized stack pretty quickly. He’s got a pretty loose aggressive game, but it seems to work pretty well for him. He kept getting involved in hands with me, for some reason. When I tried to soft-play him (“why would I want to take money from a friend?,” I thought) he kept firing and I knew he was just pushing me around. It pissed me off to the point where I was kind of on tilt, gave back a good chunk of my stack (to my so-called friend) and decided to get up while I was still on the plus side.

The moral of the story is that I should not have friends at the poker table. Not that I shoudn’t play with friends, but when friends are at my table, they’re no longer friends. Play them as hard as you would anyone else. Harder even.

One response to “Friends aren’t friends at the poker table.

  1. Nice post. I don’t know the stakes you’re playing at but against the really loose aggressive player it’s best to trap him/her. They’ll give their chips away b/c they’re used to it. Mix it up against these guys. One thing I know is that super aggressive players don’t like to be pushed back so go ahead and push your monster hands sometimes instead of slowplaying, they’ll probably interpret that as weakness and either will call or re-raise you. Looking forward to more posts!

Leave a comment